My story…here is where things get more interesting…

After finishing the graphics for Dan Spitz I realized that I had discovered a passion for wrist watches.
I felt my next step was to learn more about these amazing micro machines that we often take for granted.
Some watches are battery powered and relatively inexpensive, with only a few moving parts.
While others (i.e. automatic watches) have thousands of parts and often need to be serviced.
After a short time conducting a little internet research, I discovered that watchmaking, in general, is a dying art.
When battery powered watches came on the market in the 70’s it nearly killed the desire for self-winding automatic watches that need more care and daily winding.
Fortunately, over time, a small portion of the market began to re-appreciate the craft and beauty in making and maintaining automatics.
Even so, I leaned that in the U.S. the watchmaking community is growing older, towards retirement, while fewer and fewer youngsters are entering the field.
In response to the low interest and the fact that schools are shutting doors, manufacturers such as Rolex have been subsidizing watchmaking schools to try and ensure there will be professionals to service their automatic watches into the future.
At this time I was living in the Seattle, WA area and I found a Swiss American Watchmaker’s Training Alliance (SAWTA) watchmaking school right around the corner.
https://northseattle.edu/programs/watch-technology-institute
At first this seemed to be what I was looking for.
However, I discovered that the name “watchmaking” is a little deceiving.
Although it contains the word “making” is actually is more about watch repair than the actual design and creation of watches.
I felt that I needed to broaden my search for schools who offered micro engineering, CAD and product design.
While indeed I seemed headed in the right direction, it didn’t take long to realize that I had little to no chance of changing careers by entering school full time while supporting a family.
Most all the programs I found only offered classes during the day, so even a part time curriculum was not feasible.
I simply couldn’t find an evening program that would allow me to hold down a day job while going to school at night.
In the end, the only option available was to see how far I could get on my own…without formal training.

Leave a Reply

